[Bow] Guide to Reaching CBT Kyoto Solo

Post helpful information for other players here.

[Bow] Guide to Reaching CBT Kyoto Solo

Postby Otonashi » 13 Jun 2014, 20:01

Before I begin I want to make clear that this is a guide for Bow Users. I have no experience with any other weapon. After it was announced that CBT would be extended till 19th June I lost my motivation to help people through Izumo, so here's a guide instead, from someone who reached Kyoto in 3 days at level 16 solo. Since this game is still in CBT there are plenty of nice people who will gladly help you through some of the toughest parts between Level 1 and Kyoto, so this guide may be obsolete. Once OBT arrives on the 1st of July I may expand this into an actual guide.

Update History
1.0.0 Thread Posted
1.0.1 Edited with SeekerFate's remarks
1.0.2 Updated Partner details
1.0.3 Improved Formatting

Contents
  1. Character Creation ー Tutorial
  2. Meeting Shizuka ー Kishinden
  3. Quick Bow Guide
  4. Kishinden ー Sakurajima Depths
  5. Yamataikoku ー Room of Rites
  6. Izumo Rest Stop ー Ooikazuchi Cavern
  7. Oonaobi Shrine and Yomotsuhirasaka

Character Creation ー Tutorial
You should start with a Cautious-typed character. You get some Status Points as soon as you get past the Character Creation page, you'll want to put those into Dex. The same goes for every time you level up. Dex Dex and more Dex. Clear the tutorial using the Bamboo Bow (Lightning Arrow, Rapid Shot, Spin Kick) you're given at the start by holding F and moving your mouse to select the bow. ??? is a joke, you should handle it without encountering problems. It's relatively tanky and its charging and fireball-spewing are great manuevouring practice. You'll find a stronger version of this boss later on. After he falls, you will find Lady Shizuka with you for reasons which I have completely forgotten. She'll carry all your monster drops (don't sell them, you'll want them for quests and crafting) and identify items with her all-seeing eyes.